Learning Arabic is hard as...something that's really fucking hard

Docwagon

I started learning Arabic when I was, unsurprisingly, in the Middle East for 2 years.  I got to the point I could do simple things like order in a restaurant, make inane small talk, etc and could read very simple children's books.  9 years later and I can't even do the fucking alphabet any longer.

We're planning a visit to Jordan next year in conjunction with our Spain trip (a week in Barcelona then a week in Amman), and I really want to be able to speak half way decent Arabic.  My father in law speaks decent English, but my mother in law doesn't know anything but "hi, how are you, I'm fine."  It seems rude to go and not be able to talk to her at all or to force my wife to play translator the whole time.