Programming Help...?

Palle

I've been wanting to learn how to program for a very long time. I never really got into it because the stuff I read up on made it seem rather complex and daunting...

A few years later I sit here and I still want to learn but I have no idea where to start. I want to learn as much as possible and maybe take few courses later on... I want to make a living from this in the future.The material I've found on the web doesn't explain much to someone who is a complete beginner and have no experience.

I know a few of you guys (Bart, Euan?) have some experience with it. Where should I begin? Can you recommend any material that is worth buying (books, e-books)? Or anything else that could help?

I'll be back to this thread tomorrow, busy night. But what type of programming are you interested in? What are you searching for on the Internet, java, C++ or are you looking at a general thing like Web programming?

I'll give you my story tomorrow bud, others will help More Like Sennex or Cyber, for reasons I'll explain tomorrow.

I'm a dabbler, not a professional, nor even an amateur. But...

If you want to familiarize yourself with basic programming concepts and practices just to see if you like it, then I highly recommend this resource:

http://interactivepython.org/runestone/static/thinkcspy/index.html

I've done the whole course, including every practice exercise, twice. It's very, very good. If you register, you can save all your code snippets. There's nothing to download; the course provides space to write and run code from the browser. The language it teaches is Python 3 which is a very versatile language, though not hugely popular. The important thing though, is that it's a very easy language to learn and forces you to develop good programming habits. Its syntax is clean and easy to read, making it very friendly to beginners though no less powerful than other languages.