Minecraft Beginner Tips

GazzaGarratt

So for a complete noob where do I start with this? A good start would be basic controls and first things to learn / first 10 things in Minecraft to do would help me out so I can understand how to do the basics before I even attempt on picking a zone for myself.

1738681878_Justinedinburghmemories.thumb

I'm sure I am missing something important out as I am doing this from memory.  Things are a little easier being is an online server as other players can give you things which speeds things up however the basics are still the same.

Basic controls;

Mouse - move your aim

Left click - perform an action (punch, dig, mine etc)

Right click - place / use selected item

W,A,S and D - move

Ctrl - Run (though I think run can be activated by pressing W then press and holding it)

Shift - Stealth / crouch

Space - Jump

E - Open inventory

Numbers 1-9 at top of keyboard - select things from your quick inventory (the line of items at the bottom)

Q - Drops one of the current item stack your holding.  If you want to drop a whole stack, left click and drag it out of your inventory.

J - Brings up a full screen map.

In your inventory;

Left click - select everything in that stack or if holding items place everything in that stack

Right click - pick up half the stack or if holding items, place 1 of that item

Crafting;

You can craft on the move by pressing E however it is quite limited in what you can make.  To craft most things you need a crafting table (I'll get on how to build one in a bit).  To craft anything you need to places the right items in the right order - with one of the mods everything is on the right and side and searchable to find out how to build it.